Nanny Taxes/Household worker taxes

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Nanny Taxes/Household worker taxes

Hello, my husband and I are beginning to look into hiring some household help.  I am just beginning to learn about the Nanny Tax.  What do most people use to do the withholding for the nanny tax?  Care.com services seemed expensive.  Is this something a CPA would help with? Or is this something that can easily be done on your own? Again, we are brand new to this so any articles or help would be appreciated.

My husband would like to pay them under the table because he does not want to be bothered with it.

We're going through the same thing currently. I would also love to get more info, but from my research, it seems a local CPA should be able to handle this if you have only 1 or 2 nannies.

Comment

Cant you also use one of the many paychex type sites? Their rates seem pretty reasonable and they handle everything IIRC. Paychex obviously one of the larger companies.

Comment

I used nannytaxtools.com. It was a great starting place. Definitely recommend it, but it was still a lot of work and googling because each state is different of course. Once you get it set up its pretty easy though.

Comment

I pay social security on my housekeeper using quick pay which is the same software that I use to calculate it for my office employees

Comment

Hello, my husband and I are beginning to look into hiring some household help.  I am just beginning to learn about the Nanny Tax.  What do most people use to do the withholding for the nanny tax?  Care.com services seemed expensive.  Is this something a CPA would help with? Or is this something that can easily be done on your own? Again, we are brand new to this so any articles or help would be appreciated.

My husband would like to pay them under the table because he does not want to be bothered with it.