Buy vs Lease car for my LLC

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Buy vs Lease car for my LLC

So if I was an independent contractor with my own LLC does it make more sense (for a car used for business purposes) to lease a car or buy a car for tax purposes. I'm in the highest tax bracket.  Thanks!

Lease payments are deductible so I think there can be an argument for leasing if you are interested in driving new cars every 3 years.

If you are planning on purchasing a car (particularly used) and truly driving it into the ground, I think this will still be the better way to go financially.

Comment

you only save the business portion on lease or purchase.  you ca  section 179 for cars if you get a gas guzzler, but when you sell it's a pain you have to recapture.  that can be a pain, think my accountant charged me about 400.00 when i took my business car i purchased out of use.  if you are in the highest bracket i say lease something you like that is reliable, that way you can purchase at the end of lease for your spouse, kids, parents etc.

Comment

So if I was an independent contractor with my own LLC does it make more sense (for a car used for business purposes) to lease a car or buy a car for tax purposes. I’m in the highest tax bracket.  Thanks!

First of all, you need to compare the cost of leasing versus buying, considering the length of time you tend to keep a car, etc. This is something your CPA should be able to assist with.

Next, you'll need to calculate the tax savings with each method. If you buy reasonably priced cars and drive them a lot and a long time for business, purchasing would probably be better than leasing because you can deduct an unlimited amount for mileage during the time of ownership. You get $1.08 in deduction this year for every 2 miles you drive and if you drive a lot for business, it can really add up fast.

There is no easy rule of thumb - you need to dig deeper and compare the cost-benefits of each.