Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Struggling to find peace with my finances...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Struggling to find peace with my finances...

I am a struggling physician, but not in the usual sense of the word struggling.  I am struggling to have comfort with my financial success.

For much of my career I was a typical physician, annual income in the 200's for the first decade and in the 300's for the second decade.  Then I got involved with creating a startup and my income increased, actually increased quite a lot, like moving over with an extra comma in there.

We have expanded our spending to a degree to go along with this new level of income, but that hasn't been an easy adjustment for me.  In the past we lived a nice life but we always balanced relatively careful spending with saving and investing.  These days we are living the extreme high life, spending roughly 300k per year, but that ends up being only about 15% of current gross income.  We live in a high tax state and pay a bit over 40% of income in taxes, and we invest a similar amount.  Right now we have a fairly impressive, steadily growing net worth for a physician family of around 18 million.

The extreme success somehow makes me uncomfortable.  We have increased our charitable giving, and we have increased our spending on travel, gifts, housing, entertainment, household help and more.  I should feel financially quite secure, but the high annual spend nevertheless still makes me very uncomfortable.  My spouse enjoys the lifestyle, but I have not found peace with spending so much each year.  I carry a somewhat irrational fear that the financial success could evaporate at any moment and we would be stuck in an expensive house with all the surrounding accoutrements that would take time to unwind.