Help a beginner invest his money

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help a beginner invest his money

I’m a dental resident and my wife is a pathology resident. I have 1 year of residency left and she has many more....(shes doing academia after). We have $0 debt.

We are each contributing a little to our respective residency 403(b) plans which does not match. I am the only one currently with a Roth IRA. I’ve been maxing that out for the last couple years when I’ve been able to do so.

In the next few months, I will be starting a moonlighting job, getting paid as a 1099 along with my residency W2. And I will have some more money to invest. I’m trying to figure out how best to invest my money.

I was planning on opening my wife a Roth IRA and maxing out both Roth IRAs at 11k.
    I was also planning to open a solo 401k with Vanguard and fund that a bit. I plan to eventually roll my 403(b) into my solo 401k. I would rather fund a 401K rather than my 403(b) because I am leaving in a year.

Does that sound like the best plan going forward? I want the option to do backdoor roths in the future.

Also, I’m not sure if I quite understand the employee contribution part. If I put in 3k into my 403b does that mean I can put in 15k into the solo 401k or if I put money into the 403b then I'm stuck with just 25% of my 1099 to put into my solo 401K.

Sorry about the basic questions. Just starting to wrap my head around this. Thanks

Wow, zero debt - that's impressive! No need to apologize for "basic" questions. You're obviously good money managers. Thoughts and answers:

1. Curious as to why your wife is passing up the Roth in favor of a non-matching 403b while you're in residency at a relatively low marginal tax bracket.

2. You're correct that, if you put $3k into the 403b, you'll be able to add $15k to your SOLO-k.