Help creating a plan of attack

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help creating a plan of attack

Hello everyone! I am relatively new to WCI community and can't seem to be able to create a plan of attack when I graduate my residency. Here is my "unique" situation. I would appreciate any advice on "what would you do if you were in my shoes".

About me: 3 kids ages 8,5,2. I am an anesthesiology resident and mostly a sole breadwinner. Also support my mother who lives with me on and off and helps take care of kids when she is here.  Husband takes care of the kids and household most of the time and has a small business from home. We rent and own two clunker cars, so by all means we live like residents right now.

Right now our income is my resident salary, moonlighting income, and husband's small income for a gross total of $95K per year.  I am graduating this year and here is the financial situation we will find ourselves in comes July:

My job is private practice. 3 years to a partnership with an income of $310K the first year, $325K the second year, $350K the third year. $15K buy-in and anywhere between $410K and $450K once I'm a partner. 401K match up to 18K per year plus they max it out to $56K if the group remains profitable.

Husband brings 12K-15K per year.

Our debt: my loans are $150K currently in deferment, which I will hopefully refinance at 4-5%. My husband's loans are $50K at 5% which we are currently paying out.

We need to upgrade cars because ours will not live another year. We are getting a used van and financing 20K at 2.6% for 5 years and a small used sedan of some sort for which we will hopefully pay no more than 7K.