Solo 401k?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Solo 401k?

Tried to research this and feel like I am reading conflicting results on the 20% rule here. If I am currently not working and elect to get a EIN and start a solo 401k, can I in theory elective defer 100% of my first $18,500 of income directly to this plan or thereabouts after paying ss and such, and an additional 20% of my net income if I were only planning on making said amount? Or is it only 20% of total net income to get the the 18500? I am currently part of no other plan at this time. Thanks

From my understanding you can contribute the full 18000 as your employee contribution and then 20% of net business income as your employer contribution. or 18500 if we are talking this year.

Comment

That's the way I read it also, but I seem to have read other examples where people stated they could only put in 20% of net. Basically my wife is an MFM and I am a nurse but since we have 3 going on 4 kids, it works out better when I am just at home with the kids. I have a few different options to do things from home but would be happy just hitting close to that 18-20k mark and putting it all away before it gets hit with her tax bracket.

Comment

You get one 18.5k of "employee" contribution.  The confusion comes up when you have two jobs and thus two plans.  On top of the 18.5k you can do the "employer" 20% contribution as well.  In your case you don't have another plan so you can contribute both.

Comment

Almost everyone is aware of the 402g employee deferral limit. Adjusted for inflation in 2018 this is $18,500/employee across all SARSEP IRA, SIMPLE IRA, 401k and 403b plans.

Many are aware of the 415c statutory annual addition limit. This is the sum of all employee and employer contributions. Adjusted for inflation in 2018 this is $55,000/employee for each unaffiliated employer.