Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Forming an LLC with new Tax Reform

Hi WCI et al,

I'm a mid-career physician in private practice currently employed and compensated close to $500K (all via W-2). Would it be beneficial to convert to an LLC given the new tax reform proposal which will reduce corporate taxes to 21% (I recognize that legislation hasn't been finalized). I know that physician self-incorporating often found it to be a "wash"/loss for the work and trouble of self-incorporation, but I suspect many are now contemplating this strongly with the pending legislation. What are your thoughts?

Thanks

-HCD

I'm having trouble understanding your plan. You ask about converting to an LLC then talk about the trouble of self-incorporation. Sounds like you're already a corporation looking to dissolve the corporation. Otherwise, you wouldn't be paid by W2. Are you a traditional "C" corporation or an "S" corporation?

I cannot answer your question, btw. Just not enough information and, as you noted, the legislation h/n/b finalized but looking for clarity and might be able to offer some kind of helpful advice.
    Working to protect good doctors from bad advisors. Fox & Co CPAs, Fox & Co Wealth Mgmt. 270-247-6087

Comment

I beg your pardon, but I don't think you've appropriately explained your situation. You're "employed" and paid on a W-2. Are you a shareholder-employee looking to change your business structure? Or are you looking at changing jobs completely from ceasing employment with your current practice and becoming self-employed?

Also, LLC has no bearing on tax status; it's a legal entity, not a taxation status. I assume you mean changing from being an employee to either a shareholder-employee of an S-corp or to a sole proprietor

Comment

Hi,