Yet another Roth conversion question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Yet another Roth conversion question

Here is my dilemma.  I have a 401k through my job and my wife's job provides her with an individual IRA.  In January 2017 I contributed 5500 each to both my wife and my traditional IRA accounts and subsequently converted them to Roths (something I have been doing for several years).  Soon after however, I was enlightened that my wife's Individual IRA creates a tax consequence on Roth conversions so for 2017 I quickly reversed the conversion back to the traditional IRA.  After listening to listening to a recent WCI podcast this AM however, WCI mentioned that spousal IRAs are considered separate entities when determining eligibility/tax consequenses for Roth conversions.  So as I now understand it, I can convert my personal Roth IRA without the consequence, however my wife cannot have hers converted to a Roth without the tax consequence.  Correct?

If so I am planning on reconverting my 2017 traditional IRA back to a Roth and doing my own personal backdoor Roth in 2018.  Sound right?

How does a business have a traditional IRA for an employee? Is it a SEP or SIMPLE? I'm interested to hear more about this. Businesses aren't supposed to have anything to do with traditional *individual* retirement arrangements.

Hers have nothing to do with yours, unless you're talking about the ability to deduct traditional contributions above a certain joint-filing income level. There was no reason to change your IRA from Roth back to traditional.

Comment

Yea he probably means sep or simple. Which means yes the pro-rata rule takes effect.

Comment