Deciding between two jobs

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Deciding between two jobs

I am a current senior dermatology resident looking to move back home to a moderate cost of living area. I have narrowed down the list to two jobs which I've received contracts, but am having a hard time deciding as both seem like great options. I will be practicing general dermatology some surgery and a small amount of cosmetics. I will not be doing Mohs. All of this before any negotiation.

1) W2 job. 4day/5day alternating work week. Off day is Monday (prefer Friday but unavailable). $320k base. Bonus thresholds: 30% of collections after 700, 40% of collections after 850. Bonus paid annually. Partnership discussion after 2-3 years but currently only two partners (brother-in-laws) in early 50's so unsure of specifics. Working out of 3 offices. 45 minutes from parents. Do not collect any money from referred ancillary services such as aestheticians, skincare products, microneedling, light therapy, lasers, etc... That is billed under the practice owners. DEA, CME, health insurance for me, malpractice etc... are covered. 5 weeks PTO (vacation + CME). Huge non-compete based upon zip codes. Excellent reputation. Has strong affiliations with top notch dermatology residency for referrals, etc... Gave me references on 4 people who left, all of whom had nothing but positive things to say. After two year contract, most people switch to straight percent collections which is between 45-50%. Average EMR. Some of the ancillary benefits (CME, DEA, etc...) are dropped. 2 rooms/doctor.