Financial Planning 101

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Financial Planning 101

I am in my last year of fellowship and just now beginning to research how to manage my financial situation. I have a family and have not been able to save money during residency. Now that I am in fellowship in a location with a lower cost of living I want to be more proactive in beginning to save. I have less than 100k in student debt with low interest rate, no RothIRA or 401k, 15k in bonds that are making 5% in returns, and enough savings for emergencies and other incidentals. My first question is, should I be setting up a RothIRA this late in the game or just apply the money we can afford to towards our debt burden? Second, would it be wise to deposit my bonds while the taxes on capital gains will be less and put that money directly into a RothIRA or other retirement account or keep them where they are gaining 5% a year? Third, how much of a difference does it make to start a retirement account just before leaving fellowship as opposed to my first year as an attending?

1) Absolutely Roth if income allows.

2) Liquidate bonds and put money into VTSAX.

3) Perhaps not "much" of a difference, but the sooner the better, in my opinion.  If you're leaving fellowship next month, I'd skip it to save the paperwork hassle.  But if you have enough time to max it out for the year, go for it.

Comment

Yes to selling your ultra high interest bonds to fund a Roth IRA.  Do this for both 2017 and 2018. Every year of qualified retirement savings matters to you because you are already behind others.  Fellowship has put you into an even more reduced earnings cycle of life.

Tangentially, whenever the next recession/bear market arrives, your ultra high interest bonds will devalue more than other safer bonds.

Comment