Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Should I rent or buy home?

Wondering what to do in my situation.

I am currently in last year of residency with contract signed moving to mid size city next July

Debts- 160k of Mine at 6.8% on the pslf program with wife having debt of 140k

Savings- right now not much- 5k, planned to have 10k for moving expenses new location start up etc etc by next year

Income - Next year income- contract stipulates guaranteed for 2 years at 255k. wife not working

costs - no kids planned, taxes will be about 67k or so, and ill pay 20k in student loans for both of us

So I know a lot of doctors move within first 2 years.  Which is better- to buy a cheap home that I can potentially sell at a loss equal to the money spent on rent or just renting?

What would be a reasonable budget with our circumstances? We want to live in the city so we know things will be a bit more expensive.  My wife says she does not want to live in an apt/home thats similar to our current 700/mo rental - think of your very standard run of the mill apt

Our targeted budget for rental was bw 1800-2500.  Which potentially is doable to get what we want.

However, for properties that we can live in we were looking at about 300-450 for a home to purchase.  W zero down it looks like we'd pay anywhere from 2500-4000 a month.

Eg, the home we are currently looking at is 399k and would put us at 3000/mo including an 400 HOA/mo fee w only 10k down.

So questions:

1. I'm trying to figure out - is it ok to spend that much since its an "investment" of sorts- such that even if we have to leave quick we could sell it at a loss and still come out better than renting at 2000-2500k a month where its all gone?

2. Is our rental range too high? This is going to be tough since we want a certain lifestyle- living downtown in safe area so we can walk everywhere (only 1 car), along with a better property