Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

'Back to broke' dermatologist 8 months after residency graduation!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 'Back to broke' dermatologist 8 months after residency graduation!

I am 32-year-old dermatologist in the Midwest. Not married, no kids. I graduated residency in July 2021, took 2 months off to travel and see family/friends, and started working in September 2021. As of March 4th, 2022 (my next paycheck), I will be 'back to broke' ($0 net worth)! As I reflect on the milestone, I bring myself back to the first day my parents dropped me off at college when I was 18 years old. THAT was the last time I was 'broke'...13 years ago. That night, I drank a lot of Bud Lights and got pretty dizzy with people I didn't even know. If I would have told that drunk 18-year-old kid "In 13 years, you're going to be a dermatologist!"...I would have thought..."Darn, I'm going to be rich, taking fancy vacations, driving a Ferrari and living in a mansion!" In reality, my vacations consist of going back to my hometown to help my Mom pay her medical bills, I drive a Toyota Rav 4 and I live in a 1BR apartment.