Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Desperate PGY4 psych resident - advice for personal loan while still in residen?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Desperate PGY4 psych resident - advice for personal loan while still in residen?

Hi,

I'd like some advice as to a personal loan while still in residency.

I'm a fourth year psych resident, and will be getting out of residency next summer.  I have no debt and $35K net worth, all in a savings account. My wife does not work and we have been subsisting on previous savings (now depleted) and gifts from relatives.

Due to serious unexpected health issues with my wife and one of my three kids, I'm going to have to hire a nanny for at least one year, basically to prevent my household from totally falling apart before I graduate.

I am seriously thinking about taking out a loan for $30-50K, in order to pay for a nanny. Any suggestions as to where is the best place to obtain such a loan?

Thanks!

A desperate PGY-4 on the East Coast 

Well, you can use that $35K in the savings account to start. That would allow you to borrow less. But there are a lot of folks who do loans like this including blog sponsor SoFi. Sometimes they're called "transition to practice" loans or similar, but it's all about the same. 0% credit card loans may also work.

Check your mailbox. I feel like I get one of these offers a month. The interest rate is never very good though.

But I'd explore all my other options before doing this including moonlighting and getting family to come help (including paying them if necessary.)
    Helping those who wear the white coat get a fair shake on Wall Street since 2011

Comment

Could you consider an au pair?  Cheaper than a nanny.  We had far better experiences with au pairs at that stage of our lives than nannies.

Comment

Excellent idea. I guess that was what I had in mind for a nanny. How much less does an au pair cost?