Savings Rate Advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Savings Rate Advice

This is my first year calculating a savings rate. I have reviewed several websites and posts regarding this, but I would appreciate some personal advice on my savings rate.

Total gross income: $345,000

My work retirement (457 and 403b): $39,000
    Spouse Retirement: $12,000
    Backdoor Roth (I did it for 2020 and 2021 this year): $12,000
    Mortgage Payments: $32,000
    Cash saved for Emergency Fund in 2021: $45,000

$140,000 / $345,000 = 40% Savings Rate

I have no debt (besides the house), no kids, and no HSA.

I know their are several ways to calculate a savings rate and many opinions on this. I'm just curious if I have missed anything big on either side of the formula? I did not include my employers match ($19,500), as I consider that gravy on top and nothing I did to contribute to it; however, would appreciate others opinions on their savings rate calculations and if they have any major concerns with mine?

Thank you!

Employer's match should be included in total compensation. I wouldn't necessarily consider mortgage payments as savings, either. Regardless, the only thing that matters is not necessarily the percentage you are saving but the absolute number. As long as it is enough to meet your goals then you're doing just fine.

Comment

These are not really savings, reserves for future expenses and housing.
      (savings + Employer contribution)/(Gross income * Employer contribution)
      $63k/$345k = 18.26% without gross up
      If you assume $15k employer:
      $78k/$360k = 21.67% with gross up

Comment

I agree with CordMcNally that you don't include mortgage payments, unless you paid $32K above your normal payments... then you could count it.