Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 100% Roth 401k vs. Combo Roth + Trad 401k

Hi,

I am currently a resident and have a non-matched 401k (technically 403b) at my institution. I can contribute to Roth, traditional, or both for this plan (non-matched). At present, I am thankfully able to max out the 403B (and a Roth IRA). Based on my current expenses increasing in the near future (rent), I will not be able to max out the Roth 403B and fit my monthly budget.

My options are as such: A) decrease my Roth contributions to increase my take home pay or B) do a mixture of Roth + Traditional 403B (it would be 50/50 for this year, then 90/10 next PGY-year) in such a way that the decreased taxes increase my take home pay. For option A, I would be putting $200 less per month into the Roth 403B.

My question is: should I prioritize my Roth contributions or should I prioritize maxing out the 403B, even if it means dropping the % that is Roth.

Thank you!

IMPO and noting that I’m not your financial advisor: This is the time of your career to prioritize Roth, all other things being equal (i.e. assuming you are making residency pay only as opposed to married to a high-earning spouse and/or working a lot of 1099). The loss of deduction is far less significant now that it will be later in your career, plus bd Roths may not even be an option in the future.
    Our passion is protecting clients and others from predatory and ignorant advisors. Fox & Co CPAs, Fox & Co Wealth Mgmt. 270-247-6087

Comment

Admittedly I'm not as much of an expert as jfoxcpacfp but i can't really see how anything other than roth is the answer here.

My general ROT for where to put money is:
      1. Match
      2. Roth anything
      3. Pre-tax anything
      4. Taxable

Comment

Originally posted by firedoc View Post
        Hi,