Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Newly married couple, what would be on your financial to do list?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newly married couple, what would be on your financial to do list?

Hello,

I am recently married and want to make sure that we are getting our financial ducks in a row. Im a PGY 5 ortho resident wife is a NP. I have own occ disability insurance set up through one of the big 5. We both have Roth IRA we will hopefully be able to max this year. We both also contribute to 401k some albeit not maxed out.

We will be combining our finances probably right after tax day. I also really want to work on a budget and use it as a couple once we combine finances as neither of us are budgeters currently. We have a small emergency fund that I hope to pad some throughout the following year. What other financial things should I be thinking about as a newly married couple?

Thanks!

https://www.whitecoatinvestor.com/fi...nd-attendings/
    Figure out you spending/saving priorities.
    Gross-taxes-20% retirement =spending
    Make at a minimum a top side annual budget/plan from gross down to major categories. Soo many things are family decisions like housing, transportation, etc and this will allow both to agree to the longer term goals.
    Rent for 2 years and consider you may want to do Roth conversions of pretax accounts in the transition year.
    Are you doing a fellowship and where? You need an EFund to carry you through the fellowship/transition.

Comment

#1 most important thing to do is to have a financial conversation, align on what you want to achieve with money (today and in the future), and then put a plan in place that will get you there and stick to it. If you find that you can’t stick to the plan, rinse and repeat.

Comment

Even a simple budget is fine; but need to have one.