Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How should I make the best use of $15,000?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How should I make the best use of $15,000?

I recently received $15,000 from the will of a loved one after their passing. I want to ensure that this money is used in a wise manner with regard to my student loans/future financial stability. I am a fourth-year medical student, and student loans are at the forefront of my financial priorities. After talking to my school's financial advisor, he advised that I use a portion to pay off the accrued interest portion of my student loans (~$8,000). He said that paying that portion of my loans first would be the most impactful use of my funds as the accrued interest may capitalize with the principal in the future.

What would you do? Should I pay off the accrued interest and put the rest in a Roth IRA? Should I put the rest in investments? My scope of financial literacy is very limited. As a student paying for medical school on their own, I would love your input on how I can best use this recent inheritance in a financially wise manner for the long run.

Buy a boat!!! (I’m kidding)

you can’t do a Roth IRA. You need earned income for that.

how much student loan do you have/anticipate having and what do you plan on doing?

Comment

Need more information such as loan amount and rate. 4th year student such as just now starting 4th year? I’d keep some for an emergency fund and depends on further details what I’d do with the rest.

Comment

If you are finishing 4th year now and about to start residency I’d put $6k in a Roth IRA and the rest I’d hold onto for an emergency fund. But yeah need more info on your situation.

Comment

I like the idea of accrued interest and roth IRA for the full amount for the first 6 months when you start residency.

Comment