Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Already made the mistake of leasing--buy out the car or buy new?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Already made the mistake of leasing--buy out the car or buy new?

I know leasing and then buying out the car is one of the biggest ways to waste money on a car, but already made the mistake of leasing when I was a resident, so wondering where to go from here...

I currently Lease a 2015 Honda CR-V slightly upgraded model for about 250 a month. Buy out will be 17k when it's 39 months old, which looks fairly priced based on similar prices posted online. I do like the car, and think it could last a decade easily (I only have 15k miles on it).

Would it be dumb to buy out the lease, or should i just consider the lease fees a sunk cost and go from here? Not interested in buying a used beater, nor would I ever need anything fancier, so buying a similar 25-30k car new would be the alternative.

The lease fees are a sunk cost regardless of whether you buy it at the end -- that's the definition of a sunk cost.

17k for a 3.5 year old CRV sounds like a lot to me, but I haven't looked at those prices and Honda's do retain resale value a long time.

However you could probably buy a different used car for $10k that isn't a beater and save $7k, or a cheaper new car for !7k, so I'm not sure the options you present are the only ones.

The 17k itself isn't unreasonable -- this is a different discussion than people buying their BMW going off lease who feel really bad after they spent 3 years leasing it at some outrageous price then have an emotional attachment to the sunk cost.
    An alt-brown look at medicine, money, faith, & family
    www.RogueDadMD.com

Comment