X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What Would You Do? - Post Residency Planning

What would you do in my situation?

Background

• I'm a Physical Therapist (~$80k/year employee) that's married to a 3rd year EM resident.

• My wife starts her 1st job in Oct 2016 as an independent contractor with estimated gross income of ~350k/yr.  Residency has been very difficult and she doesn't foresee herself doing EM for long. (FT for 2 years, PT after that)

Current Financial Situation

• Have a 3 month emergency fund

• $40k in savings for house down payment/potential car purchase

• $50k in employee retirement accounts (Roth IRA, 401k)

• $10k in HSA

• -$40k in student loan debt at 6.8%

• No life insurance, disability insurance, etc.

Goals:

• Protect our assets somehow

• Pay off student loan once we get her sign on bonus ($100k)

• Get a house ($150-$250k)

• Have kids in a couple years

• Minimize taxes & increase our 65% savings rate (currently 65% on $140k/yr combined gross income)

• My wife to cut back to part time or less when kids come around

Questions

• Recommendations for life insurance and disability policies given that I will work more than my wife...yet will make less money. Do I get the policies in her name, mine, or both?

• Solo 401k the way to go?

• Any other recommendations appreciated.

I apologize for the lack of brevity & appreciate your advice.

As far as disability insurance, you would each purchase your own policies to protect each of your incomes. If you happen to be a Doctor of Physical Therapy, the policy for you to purchase would be Standard Insurance Company. For your wife, if she has access to a unisex rate and discount via her training program, she should look to take advantage of it. This would most likely be through Principal or a Guaranteed Standard Issue (GSI) program.