How are we doing?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How are we doing?

Hello everyone! I've been following WCI for a while. The book was one of the first books I read on investing. I learned a lot of things here and took some actions based on that. Here is my story.

My wife is a FMG (foreign medical graduate) and PGY1 internal medicine resident. I'm a software engineer specialized in software for medical devices. We are 38 and 42 year old immigrants with two kids - 1yo and 7yo. Last year we achieved a big thing - my wife got residency (it became super competitive for FMGs, so it's a big deal). Almost all our savings went to obtaining residency - USMLE exams, observerships (shadowing in a residency program on the other side of the country), application to 200+ programs (as a FMG you have to apply broad), interviews... Anyways, that went well, so it's time to think and plan for retirement.

DEBT:

• no credit card debt, no student loans

• car loan $14K @ 3.7% (just bought out our lease)

• mortgage $67K @ 3.25% (this was our primary residence for 5 years. We moved out of state because of my wife's residency, so we are renting it out now). Paid $125K for it in 2011 with 20% down. Now it's worthy $180K-$200K

INCOME

• W-2 $130K + $50K (my salary was about 40% lower until a couple of years ago, but moving from h1-b (work permit) to green card changes things

• my 1099-MISC income varies. Last year it was $250, two years ago it was $28K. This year so far $0. We don't count on it, but if I find something - great.

• rental pays for itself and generates some extra income that we keep in a repair fund.

INSURANCE:

• $1M term life insurance (20y) for me

• $1.5M term life insurance (20y) for my wife

• $5K/month disability insurance for my wife

• $20K emergency fund

INVESTMENTS:

• PORTFOLIO TARGET - 55% US stocks, 15% Int stocks, 25% bonds, 5% REIT