Should I buy a condo?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Should I buy a condo?

I am currently a PGY3 resident with 3 more years left in training. I am debating if I should buy a condo in the area that costs about $200k. The plan would be to either continue living in the condo once I'm an attending or rent it out. I do have enough money for a 20% down-payment and I would be able to afford the monthly payment of approximately $1800 (mortgage based on 30yr fixed 3% rate on a $160k loan, plus condo fee). I am currently paying around $1800/month anyways for rent. Is there anything I'm missing here? It seems obvious to me that buying the condo would be the financially wiser decision.

Your situation is not different than everyone else wanting to buy during residency. The general advice around here is not to buy in your shoes. It's possible you could make some money, but it's far from guaranteed.

Your forgetting about transaction fees, maintenance, taxes, etc.

Comment

how much is that condo fee? high taxes? the PI on 160k @3% for 30 is less than 800, not including property taxes. could those taxes go up? could the HOA fee go up?

on the other hand, your rent could increase as well. There are many variables, but the wisdom on this forum is to not purchase in training. But don't take it from me, I only lost 20k on my training house that I owned for 8 years.

Comment

Condo fee is $1000/month, hence why it would be $1800/month (similar to what I pay in rent). Not sure if condo fee can go up (probably can). Not sure about property taxes. It is a luxury condo in a waterfront property. It can easily be rented out for $2200/month as many of the other condos in the building are going that rate.