Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Downsizing, car edition

Hello all.

I made a dumb car decision and have been analyzing what to do with it and could use an extra set of eyes.

I bought and paid for a Tesla Model 3 LR w/ autopilot for about 57k in Sept of 2019. At the time my wife and I had a solid financial plan and were meeting all goals as they pertain to paying off student loans, retirement savings, and paying off mortgage. I am a general surgeon in a stable practice. My wife is a fellowship trained surgeon. She completed her fellowship and came into practice in fall of last year and things have been rocky regarding her practice, initially secondary to long standing referral patterns (hard to break in to the community), and now because of COVID. I would be very surprised if she has a job in the next month. Geographic arbitrage is unfortunately not possible secondary to a child custody agreement.

Our debts are student loans and the mortgage only but these fixed expenses are compounded by an alimony agreement set to expire in 4 years, which might as well be another mortgage payment every month. Things are not dire, I feel lucky to have a job these days and I can adjust our goals to accommodate our current situation but am always looking to optimize and thus my question:

Does it make any sense at all to get rid of the completely paid for Tesla if possible and buy a higher mileage used Honda or Toyota like I should have done in the first place?

Assuming I could get around 45k for it and use that money to purchase a vehicle around 15k, that leaves ~30k to sit back in the bank in case of emergency (this would be in addition to our already established emergency fund). This is acknowledging that there is a loss of 12k on the Tesla, and then the addl cost of purchasing a replacement vehicle.