Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Do any of you use a financial aggregator?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do any of you use a financial aggregator?

I've been playing the points and miles game for a few years, and with most of my bills now being paid via multiple credit cards I'm finding it increasingly difficult to track my spending.  I'm thinking about signing up with Mint.com in order to better track my spending patterns, as it could pull all the data into a single source, but am nervous about using a third-party aggregator to link all my various accounts together (especially my checking account, as Wells Fargo's website also gives access to my retirement accounts).  Do any of you use a tool like Mint, Personal Capital, YNAB, etc., and if so how do you like it?

Because I write so few checks these days, one compromise I am considering is to use a tool like Mint.com to link up all my credit card statements, and just enter the deposits and checks/direct withdrawals from my checking account manually, so I could avoid linking my Wells Fargo account to the aggregator.  But I don't know how cumbersome manual entry of data is with these programs.

Personal experiences and suggestions are welcome!

I found Personal Capital not quite good enough.  It would, for instance, double count brokerage windows in my 401k, fail to log in to certain bank accounts, and I found their portfolio analysis to be no better than M*.

I've given up on tracking personal spending.  Like you I have too many accounts.  In the last year I've probably made ten credit card bonuses, 10-12 bank account bonuses, and my invested assets are spread around my 401k, HSA, Roth IRA, and four different custodians for taxable accounts.  The best "aggregator" I use is Vanguard, which still lets me modify everything in "outside investments" even though I moved all my accounts out last year.  Well, that and the bookmarks on my browser.