Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Planning a Personal Financial Health Workshop for Medical Students and Residents

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Planning a Personal Financial Health Workshop for Medical Students and Residents

Hi everyone,

My name is Jonathan, and I'm a first year medical student at NYU School of Medicine. I recently became involved in BEAM, the Business and Entrepreneurship in Medicine club at NYU. I proposed that the club should host a workshop regarding personal financial health for medical students and residents, and the other members were very receptive to this. The workshop would mainly focus on debt management, but also ideally include a small section on investing. In talking to my classmates, so many really need a workshop on this.
    I'm reaching out for your suggestions of people in NYC to lead this type of workshop (I don't think I'm qualified). I figured this community would have a lot of contacts. I could, of course, blanket email accountants in the area, but I think students would be more engaged if there was an MD in NYC who had financial knowledge he/she was willing to share. Anyone have any ideas of people from NYC who you think might be able and willing to lead a workshop? I also appreciate any ideas and advice you have for the workshop.

Thank you. Hope you had a great holiday season.

Are you planning on paying an individual for this service, or hoping they provide it for free?

I bet WCI would come out for a fee.

Comment

I'm in NYC and give lectures to my residents and surrounding on finance

Comment

Conniebird is your answer!

Comment

Thanks everyone!

Conniebird, I reached out to you.

Obviously, the ideal situation for us is that the speaker would be willing to donate their time. We can, however, request funding from student council, but not enough to cover flying someone out. I'm still working with Student Council to figure out how much we can afford.