Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dependent Care FSA and Taxes

Hello all,
    I have an Dependent Care FSA that runs until the end of March, due to my company's benefit cycle. Per my understanding, this means I have until then to submit my claim for my nanny expenses. However, given that there is a tax benefit, I assume I should claim as much as I can for the Calendar year, and then claim any additional expenses after January 1?
    This may be a foolish question, but Is it simply my contributions to the FSA that matter for taxes, and not whether or I get reimbursed?/file a claim? This is my first year using a FSA and given that the benefit cycle doesn't match up with the tax year, it has me slightly confused.

Thanks

soundbyte,

Is it just that you have until March to make all claims for the prior year? I would think 403(b) contributions and other employer benefit cycles would be very difficult to manage if it is not on a calendar year cycle; especially in filing your personal taxes.

The expenses eligible need to occur in 2016. You probably have the contributions coming out of your paycheck each pay cycle. Most employers give you a few months into the next year to make sure that last contribution in 2016 isn't forgotten and to gather the supporting documents to make the reimbursement claim

If you have a remaining balance in the account, it is forfeited back to your employer which will be reflected on your W2 (box 10).

Comment

The FSA plan appears as if it runs through March, but it could very well be I have until March to file a claim. I was limited in how much I can contribute each pay period (I started my job in August, was hoping to max out the FSA in 5 months...company wouldn't let me). Given that I want every penny I put into the FSA back, I guess it makes the most sense to file a claim in early January to ensure the final contribution is recouped. Does this sound right?

Comment