This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How much do you gift for weddings?

As WCI-reading docs and financially savvy individuals, how much do you gift at weddings?  I'm at that stage of my life when everyone is getting married or having kids, and this year I will be attending multiple weddings not as a student/resident, but as a doctor a few years into practice.  A couple years ago, I would give $100 flat, $200 if I brought a date, maybe more for closer friends, but as people get older and more established, they seem to be spending more and more on their weddings... is more expected of me now since I'm a doctor? Is that fair? I still have loans and want to live "like a resident," but in the long run it is probably better to give, and a few extra thousand bucks won't make a difference, right? Where do you draw the line? Of course, this is a highly individual choice, and depends on how close you are to the person, whether or not you are traveling for the wedding, your geographic area, etc.   Just curious how you all approach this. Thanks in advance!

$200 for acquaintances. (Including plus 1). 400 for closer friends. I figure $200 covers my cost but doesn’t give any extra, while 400 gives them money in pocket. $500-1000 for family. But I’m getting older now and get fewer and fewer invites because most friends are already married. Good thread. I’m curious about other responses. Our wedding (over the top against my will) was $200/person total cost

Comment

We usually get something off their registry. Usually somewhere between $50-$100.

Also, if they're older and more established, it's likely they need less than someone younger and less established.

Comment

Your job should have nothing to do with how much you spend on a gift. I'm sure as heck not going to buy the most expensive item on someone's registry because they will be able to ballpark my income.

If you're tight, get a personable gift, even if off registry. Cash is always welcome