Buying our first house

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Buying our first house

This is my first post. My wife and I (both age 32) are both physicians in the same institution. Combined salary 410K annually. Wife is in her 3rd year, I'm in my 2nd year of the job. Both of us love the job and department we work in. We have been living in same city for past 7 years, and have been renting throughout. Therefore, we know the city well and know where we want to buy (after extensive research). No kids yet but hopefully next 2 years.

We are confident we want to buy a more "permanent" house (rather than intermediate step for a few years and then move again). We think we will be in our current jobs/city for the next 5-7 years at least and would like a house to stay in for that period.

We are looking at a house for 780k. We saved the 20% down-payment. Maxed out 401k and HSA. No debt at all.

Would appreciate the forum's thoughts regarding the pricing of the house. Too expensive? I know it's within the 2x our income range per the WCI, but it's quite close and therefore wanted to check what the forum thought. Thanks.

You have no debt and max out retirement accounts (assuming you also do backdoor roths). You saved a good down payment and can get a conventional mortgage with a good rate. Your mortgage would be ~620k. Your combined salary is 410k. That is a mortgage well within 2x income (you can easily stretch to 3x income). You have done your research and know the ins and outs of the city you live in quite well. You are very likely committed to being there long-term because you seem to be job-stable.

Assuming you are socially stable with your marriage, I don't think anyone here will tell you not to buy this house. One caveat: If this is truly you're "permanent" or "forever" house, you can consider (and easily afford) a more expensive house - if you so desire.

Comment