Physician mortgage question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Physician mortgage question

I'm a graduating resident and developing my financial strategy both long and short term. I have a stupid (480k) amount of student debt. I have currently budgeted out projections for next year and will be able to afford to pay off 85-90k of loans yearly. No cc debt. Rent in the area my wife and I are moving to is looking like 2-2.5k monthly in a tight market.

My question is: If I do a physician mortgage in year 2 with a minimal downpayment can I refinance later into a 15 yr fixed with a more favorable rate? Wife is pregnant with our first so she wont be working for at least 6 months after I start the job. Could save up the 60k needed for a down payment but would have to dramatically decrease my loan payoffs to do so. Thoughts? Buying home in year 2 seems to make more sense than paying the same amount in rent as mortgage.

Welcome to WCI and congrats on the baby and finishing up residency. General consensus around here will be to delay purchase of the house for at least 2 years. You haven’t given us enough info to make a thorough recommendation, but based on what you’ve provided there is no way you should buy right now. Have you signed a job contract yet? You need to consider the financial risk you are facing:

1. new grad/ new job- will you hate your job and move areas/ jobs in the first 2 years? Something like 50% of grads do. Nothing like buying a home to anchor you in a job you hate.

2. Babies are expensive. Do you know if anyone with a special needs child? You could be facing insane medical bills and the potential for your partner to never return to paid work outside the home. At least wait until mom and baby return home from the hospital healthy.

3. Way higher than average medical school debt. Half a million dollars. Say that out loud a few times and let it sink in.