15 vs 30 year fixed mortgage

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 15 vs 30 year fixed mortgage

Hey all, my name is Alex and I am a resident going onto fellowship for three years.  I want to refinance my mortgage before I move out of the city and move onto another one (I'll be a 2 hour drive from my condo).  I currently owe about 300k at 4.3% on a 442k condo (worth 500k right now).  I'm paying about 2400 in monthly payments (insurance+property tax+HOA+mortgage).  I am renting out one room for 1200, plan to make it 1300 when I leave and I plan on then renting out the next room for 1400.  So all in all I'd get about 2700 a month from these guys and have about 200 left over for whatever.  My question for you guys is that when I refinance, which I think i should since the interest rates are lower than what I currently owe, should I get a 15 year fixed mortgage instead of 30 year fixed?  I think I can afford rent at my new location plus putting a little extra in the condo.

To summarize for you guys.

Two options

#1 30 year fixed interest rate 3.8 monthly payment, loan amount 300k.  Payment about 2400 per month, rent it out for 2500-2700 a month.

#2 15 year fixed interest rate 3.8 monthly payment loan amount 270k (I can put some extra money down to make the monthly cheaper).  Payment about 2900, rent it out for 2500-2700 but make up the rest with whatever I have left over.

My income 84k (some passive income boosting my salary not including rent).  I don't have any med school loans, and have no other debt (car is paid off and have about 20k in a 403b and roth IRA).