Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tapping into savings for first time home purchase

Hi folks,

First time home buyer here. Currently under contract, bout to become poor. I'm a 2nd year attending. The fiance and I have been renting for 2 years and felt ready to make the plunge. We live in a fairly high COLA, and the best loan we could find still required a decent down payment on a physician loan.

As of now I am able to cover the down payment with cash savings over the past 2 years, but just barely.  So that brings up the question of whether I should tap into possible savings/retirement accounts.

I currently have about 100k which is split between a taxable brokerage, Roth IRA, and company 401k. Right now I'm considering putting aside about 10k for additional expenses after moving in. I know I can take out 10k from my Roth without penalty. I've heard through conversation that I can take out money from my 401k and "pay myself back interest." I also have my taxable brokerage that I could sell stocks from and pay long term capital gains on.

Ideally I wouldn't be touching any of these accounts. The reality of living in a high COLA means that I may have to unfortunately. My questions is: which account type would be best to take from in order to complete the house purchase?

Thanks in advance.

If it were me, I would use taxable money if necessary.

There are limits on contributing Roth money, and I would let that balance remain as large as possible for as long as possible. There are options for taking loans from a 401(k), but if you've got the money readily available in a taxable account, why not use that?