Dream home but no liquidity of 1mil investment

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dream home but no liquidity of 1mil investment

I have a unique opportunity that I wanted to run by the helpful members of this forum. I am an EM physician currently working in a HCOL area of California and have a great job with a great group. My wife and I moved back to the area almost 3 years ago and have decided this is a stable situation where we would like to put down roots. This is where my family lives and we are loving it here. I'm establishing my practice and compensation picture is looking pretty bright for the foreseeable future. I'm 35, wife is 36 and we are just about to complete a renovation of a barn on my parents ranch property for about 50k. It will be beautiful and since it utilized an existing structure was quite cost effective. It's about 800sf 1br 1ba, has a great view with TONS of open space, is separate from family but also close which would be helpful for childcare in the near future should we decide to have children. For reference, I would estimate that a similar apartment unit (amenities and size only as the view and location are truly priceless) would go for around $500k. It's about 1.5 years of rent that we were paying before so still very cost effective if we stay here for a while, or potentially rent it out a bit if we move or go on extended vacations.