Obtaining a physician's loan without a contract

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Obtaining a physician's loan without a contract

I am a newly graduated resident attempting to obtain a mortgage through Suntrust. I will be working as an independent contractor as an ER physician with a national practice group. This company does not create contracts with their physicians. In other words, employment contracts do not exist. After being initially denied for this reason, I drafted a document which stated the minimum shifts and pay per shift I was guaranteed to arrive at a base annual salary. I just found out that even this is not sufficient--the underwriters at Suntrust apparently demand a contract, which again does not exist.

I can't imagine I am the first person to run into this problem because I know of several practice groups who don't do contracts. Any ideas or suggestions? Much appreciated.

In my experience, as a 1099, the banks need two year's worth of paystubs as your proof of income if you do not have a contract.

Comment

I don't have a contract and I don't have two years' worth of pay stubs.

Comment

Why are you in a hurry to buy a mortgage with zero down? Doesn't seem like the best idea.

Comment

Its highly unlikely anyone will give you a mortgage anyway. Even with a contract I had to have 2 years of tax returns and reams of other info.

Comment

Let me simplify my question: has anyone ever obtained a physician's loan without an employment contract (because you were 1099 /or your company simply does not do contracts)? Thank you.

Comment

Nope, and I tried. I am a 1099 but have a contract. On a total aside, I would be uncomfortable without a basic contract defining responsibilities, expectations, etc...Its odd that your national practice group feels like they dont want that kind of protection. Im sure theyre concerned about being the employer, but thats all in the language.

Comment