Outside the box ways to obtain health Insurance for Self-Employed Physician

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Outside the box ways to obtain health Insurance for Self-Employed Physician

I was wondering if anyone uses or knows of anyone who has any outside the box ideas rather than just going on the online marketplaces for health insurance for my family. I am a 1099 independent contractor and all the online plans are extremely expensive. Some of the things I was thinking of include joining a professional organization to obtain group health insurance or possibly working a part-time job that would offer me healthcare insurance. If anybody does either of these or has alternative ideas, I would love to hear them!

The problem is, not many part-time jobs offer health insurance. Starbucks does, and a lot of young people work there for that reason, but I doubt being a barista is one of your goals. Any chance your spouse plans on getting a job with benefits?

An HDHP/HSA combo should lower your costs - have you checked out the bronze plan?
    Working to protect good doctors from bad advisors. Fox & Co CPAs, Fox & Co Wealth Mgmt. 270-247-6087

Comment

Go through all the regulatory hoops to start your own insurance company, and self-insure.   

Comment

Starting next year, you'll have some additional options that were previously associated with the ACA penalty for non-compliant plans. You could opt for a catastrophic plan as soon as October of 2018.

Comment

Any updates for this string for self-employed physician?

Comment

check with various societies that you are or could be a member of

our state medical association has a group plan available for small groups but not sure if available to solos

ask colleagues whether they’re solo or private

ask hospitals you work at

call insurance agents

Comment