No announcement yet.

How much malpractice insurance to buy?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How much malpractice insurance to buy?

Hello, I was wondering if anyone could give me advice regarding how much malpractice insurance to buy. I am in my last year of residency (PM&R) and will be a 1099 independent contractor for a private rehab hospital starting in July. Currently, i've paid off all my student debt and have about 150k in assets but I anticipate that number rising once I start working. My dilemma is how much malpractice insurance should I purchase (250/750k, 500/1.5mil, or 1mil/3/mil policies)? The best quotes I was given came from The Doctors Company and are as follows...

250k/750k

1st year 2,472, 2nd year 4,238, 3rd year 5,650, 4th year 6,498, after 7,063 with discounts based on claim free years

500k/1.5mil

1st year 3,390, 2nd year 5,811, 3rd year 7,748, 4th year 8,910, after 9,685 with discounts based on claim free years

1mil/3mil

1st year 4,134, 2nd year 7,087, 3rd year 9,449, 4th year 10,866, after 11,811 with discounts based on claim free years

I have gotten mixed advice from people as some told me to purchase the 250k/750k malpractice insurance because it makes it less likely people will go after me in the event of a lawsuit while others have told me to make sure I am insured for at least the amount of assets that I have in non-asset protected accounts. Any advice would be appreciated!

To some degree, this is dependent on your state laws and community standards, but just about everyone I know carries $1M/3M.

When they file a suit against you, they do not know how much insurance you have, and a significant amount of the $250k can be eaten up by the cost of discovery. And while they might not be able to attach a judgment to your protected assets, they could potentially attach it to your future revenue stream (depending on state law). As a young physician, that is not a risk I would want to take.