No announcement yet.

Jewelry insurance. Is it ever worth it?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Jewelry insurance. Is it ever worth it?

My wife has a three pieces of jewelry worth about $20k in all. For the past couple years we've paid for jewelry insurance at a cost of approximately $320 dollars annually. Not a great deal of money, but the more I read and learn about finance, the more I see that you should only insure things you can't overcome...life, disability, homeowner's, etc... Jewelry insurance doesn't seem to make the cut. Currently I'm a resident but will be an attending in a year. My question is if anyone out there has jewelry insurance and whether it is something worth having at all...or only in select situations. Thanks.

I dont think having jewelry is worth it. Even the Kardashians think thats wasteful, so I've heard.

On a more serious note, agree with the only insure with what you cant deal with, thats the basis of true insurance.

Comment

We have my wife's wedding rings/bands insured at invoice value (not some over-inflated "appraisal" value). It's not that we don't have the cash to replace it, but I see it as a cost for peace of mind that if something happens it can be replaced.

Comment

My wife has a three pieces of jewelry worth about $20k in all. For the past couple years we’ve paid for jewelry insurance at a cost of approximately $320 dollars annually. Not a great deal of money, but the more I read and learn about finance, the more I see that you should only insure things you can’t overcome…life, disability, homeowner’s, etc… Jewelry insurance doesn’t seem to make the cut. Currently I’m a resident but will be an attending in a year. My question is if anyone out there has jewelry insurance and whether it is something worth having at all…or only in select situations. Thanks.

My husband purchased an outrageously expensive engagement ring (from a non-Kardashian's perspective) after I told him not to.