Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Regarding HSAs - is it too good to be true?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Regarding HSAs - is it too good to be true?

Resident here, thinking about switching from traditional health insurance to HSA as I'm learning the benefits of the account. Currently, the yearly max contribution is $3400, and the deductible is $1300. Some technical questions:

1. Assuming I meet the deductible at some point in the year, and THEN have further health care costs - does the plan pay? Essentially, are you guaranteed to pocket the difference of the max contribution and deductible (3400-1300 = 2100) since the plan is then obligated to pay for costs (so as long as they are covered)?

2. As a resident, my top priority is to max out Roth IRA. My employer does not match residents in 403b. I am going to find out if they match HSA contributions. Should HSA be the next account to work on? (apologies, I realize this is more of an investing question but for the sake of continuity I've tied the ?s here)

Thanks!

I think you might be a little confused about HSAs.  Either that, or I didn't understand your questions.

First, read this: https://www.whitecoatinvestor.com/retirement-accounts/the-stealth-ira/

1. HSAs are a way for you to pay your health care costs using pre-tax dollars.  It is not a substitute for health insurance.  You only qualify for an HSA if you have a high deductible health insurance plan.

For most high-income earners, the recommendation would be to maximize HSA contributions every year and pay for all deductibles & co-pays with after tax money, but keep the receipts.  Then, when you go to retire (or you need the money for any other purpose), after your HSA contributions have compounded over time, you pull out those receipts and say, "I paid $X in health care costs and I'm taking that money out now (several years after paying those health care costs) tax free."  You can then use that money however you want.