Online Disability Insurance

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Online Disability Insurance

Has anyone used policygenius for a quote? pros and cons?

Just heard about them and wondering if they are a good additional option for quoting disability insurance.

Cheers

My husband and I got quotes from both Policy Genius and LeverageRX.com. We ended up using an agent through LeverageRX. It's similar to Policy Genius but they let you compare different agents and quotes.

Comment

I'm an independent broker who only specializes in life/disability/long-term care and health insurance.

Although Policy Genius (PG) is a great company and represents almost every carrier on the market, I would definitely go with an independent broker like the ones recommended/listed here on WCI. Some things require a bit of conversation before purchasing (ie: DI) and you will be glad that you took the time to understand the specifics of the coverage.

It shouldn't take too much time to speak with a broker and go over everything together (usually 25min to an hour or so), which is why I would not just purchase DI off the shelf. What many people like about the PG model is that you do not necessarily have to speak with an agent and hear a sales pitch, yet the pricing is the same whether you briefly speak with an agent beforehand, or just apply through a site like PG.

As you probably know, DI is a lot more complicated than Term Life insurance, which is why I would recommend going with a competent professional - As I mentioned above, you pay the same amount with either of them, but an independent broker who works with all of the carriers and knows underwriting extremely well can save you a TON of money. They can also go over all of the specific riders with you and explain everything in full-detail.