Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

DI with foreign travel exclusion rider. Is this standard?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• DI with foreign travel exclusion rider. Is this standard?

Long time follower, first time poster.
    just graduated residency and finalizing my DI with principal. I am a foreign graduate and hold a foreign citizenship. The final documents they sent me contain a foreign travel exclusion rider specific to my home country of citizenship, whereby any injury that occurs in that country would be excluded from coverage. I also think that even if injury did not occur there, I cannot collect payment if I am living there (verbiage awkward, reached out to agent to clarify).
    mid this standard? Seems crappy to me.
    thanks!

If you have a foreign travel exclusion on your policy then no benefits are typically paid while outside of the USA. If you don't have an Foreign Travel exclusion most carriers have a out of country limitation of 6 months to 12 months while on claim. The reason for the limit is that part of the pricing that goes into these contracts is based on the rehabilitation capacity of the USA medical care system. The carriers look at different illnesses and injuries to figure out what the typical claim time is for each when using the rehab data from USA patients. That rehab time and thus claim payment from the carrier is all calculated into the anticipated loss ratios for each policy sold which in turn develops the premium you pay for that policy. If you are hurt/sick and outside of the US then the rehab back from that injury or illness most likely will be longer and thus extends the losses of the carriers. That is why they put limits on claims outside of the USA. Even if that extended loss for out of country rehab is not true for 100% of the countries out there that is still a variable which most carriers typically don't want to accept.
    Hope that helps.
    Scott Nelson-Archer, CLU, ChFC