Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Should residents get disability ins. BEFORE graduating?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Should residents get disability ins. BEFORE graduating?

Hi all. First time long time...

I'm a graduating resident this July and have begun navigating the disability market.  I have read the 5 part WCI post on disability and spoke to several attendings and insurance brokers/FAs re: various riders etc... My question is kind of straight forward: Should residents signup for disability prior to completing residency?

Not sure if you know this but there is a push for residents to sign up for disability prior to graduation, the two major points are to:
    1) Lock in a resident discount that amount to 10-20% off
    2) Avoid having to factor in group disability provided by your post grad employer
    I will do my best to explain my understanding/misunderstanding and possible issues with each. Again the big question is should I move forward with this now or wait?

Thanks in advance.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Locking in a resident discount that amount to 10-20% off:
    - Many of the major insurance carriers offer resident specific discounts ranging up to 20% off the total premium (inc riders) for the policy in perpetuity.  We are told this is to establish a relationship early with the expectation that most doctors do not switch providers.
    - The policy would initially be written to cover a resident salary and therefore would require an FIO rider to allow you to increase the coverage as your income increases. The discount would continue to apply with the new premium.  But this rider, like all riders is not free and comes at a cost, which may offset the discount
    - Is this "discount" akin to a mattress companies seemingly never ending discount?  On July 2nd will there be a new "new attending discount" for 10-20% off?