No announcement yet.

Cancel my practice overhead insurance?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cancel my practice overhead insurance?

Hello WCI community. I'm thinking of cancelling my practice overhead insurance and I want a sanity check.

My background finacial info: I am a family doc new in practice. My overall financial situation is good, with non-mortgage debt sitting at $40k (2.85%, interest only currently) and about $45K currently invested (ETF portfolio). I owe $480K (2.4%, 5 yr fixed, 25 yr amortization) on a home valued at approx $650K. This is my first year out (therefore figures are very ballpark) but it look like I am billing 20-27.5K monthly, of which $5K goes to professional expenses, leaving $15K+, after putting money aside for taxes. From this amount about 7K goes to our household budget and the remainder (always at least $3K) to retirement savings. My spouse brings in 5K/month after taxes. We're having some lifestyle inflation post-residency (new house, some new clothes, might even replace a 13 yo vehicle). It's great and I'm gonna roll with it as long as our savings rate can stay >30%.

My practice info: I signed on with a group of doctors at a clinic where we have a cost sharing agreement. I pay percentage of our total office expenses that is re-negotiated annually or more frequently if the number of doctors in our group changes. This amount is currently $3500 monthly. My contract states that if I were to leave (which I certainly don't plan to do) I would need to give notice of 4 months, and in case of disability or prolonged absence I would be responsible for my share of expenses for up to 12 months. There is a risk of my share increasing over time due to staff raises or if anyone leaves our group.

I am currently paying $27.55 monthly for practice overhead insurance that would provide up to $5000 per month of coverage.