Guardian DI Future Increase Option vs Benefit Purchase Rider

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Guardian DI Future Increase Option vs Benefit Purchase Rider

I know that the benefit purchase rider is free and offers me regular increases in benefit (and corresponding premium) as well as the fact that if I don't accept, I lose the ability to increase coverage later. Could someone walk me through what the advantages/disadvantages of the Future Increase Option are? I am a resident just starting out looking at the max $5,000/mo coverage but am not sure about the best way to go about increasing my coverage towards end of training. Some thoughts I have are whether there is any additional medical underwriting that has to happen or whether I might lose training discounts once I increase coverage with either.

https://www.whitecoatinvestor.com/di...-4-the-riders/

First of all, you won't be able to qualify for an increase until you are an attending. The increase is based upon your earnings.
    Benefit purchase rider requires a substantial portion be exercised.
    The purchase option you pay for, and it is optional. As you choose to exercise, your option price will go down as your cover costs increases.

Comment

Pros to Benefit Update process:
      1: It is free.
      2: It forces you to keep up on a review of coverage and if adequate in case of a disability.
      3: It has 2 extra triggers to allow increases (income increase or loss of group disability, think about leaving residency, both would be in play).

Cons to Benefit Update process:
      1: You don't pay for it so you don't control it.
      2: If you don't want to do a review of your income then the feature can be lost.
      3: The option to increase is not necessarily every year and may not line up with your needs.

Pros to Future Purchase Options
      1: You get options presented to you every year.