Disability CLAIM

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Disability CLAIM

Hello, I'm a physician in his 40's, who has purchased and maintained a Principle disability policy for the past 10 years. I have recently had worsening of a health condition that interferes with my work. I'm considering filing a claim for disability related to this issue, but have many questions and issues to consider. Who can I trust to discuss these delicate matters with and to not "close any doors?" Understanding the various potential conflicts of interest, can I trust my disability insurance agent to truthfully answer questions as to the likelihood of my claim being accepted, and the overall process and risks? Should I first discuss with an attorney? If so, any recommendations in how to find a qualified attorney in this field?

I dont know who your disability agent is, but I bought my policy from an independent broker. They would be the first person I would go to with questions.

Comment

If this is career ending I would contact an attorney first.

Comment

I have canceled or changed two policies...the agents who sold them had moved on ages before. That might help narrow down your options.

If you are friends with the COS or CMO, you might ask a vague question about attorneys working with disabled docs; obviously this is situation dependent! Your practice attorney and accountant would also likely have some opinions.

Please circle back and update us when you get things sorted out, so that we may all learn.

Comment

Talk to your agent if you think they are sharp and really understand disability, not just how to sell a policy. If you file a claim it will not affect your policy with Principal, they can't cancel anything, change terms, raise rates or anything like that. I think you will find their claims process very fair. If after all of that you don't find it to be fair then hire an attorney but if you do then try to pay them a fee instead of the typical % of your claim.