Disability insurance

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Disability insurance

As a resident i have bought 3k disability insurance for me and my wife each. We are both physicians and we finished residency( recently). We have very average salary for now.

My question is: Should i increase my disability insurance at this point?. Keep in mind both of us are physicians. I was thinking about increasing mine only to 10k.

I know that some would argue that if you have double physician income you will not need disability at all or very small.

If you wait to increase your benefit then you will end up paying virtually the same amount of total premium except you will have been covered for less time with the higher benefit. Take a look at your average monthly expenses and insure accordingly. Who practices in the higher risk specialty?

Comment

If both are physicians I see less need to carry as much disability insurance. Could one of you support the other if the other were not working. If so, then you have minimal need. If not, then insure the difference. For me, I don't NEED much, but I wanted to carry about 5k monthly just so I wouldn't be as much of a burden, to cover random medical expenses and not have to ask for an allowance if I were disabled. I'll probably increase that to 7.5k or even 10k if we pick up more house expenses or increase our lifestyle.

Comment