Which health plan for my situation?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which health plan for my situation?

I' am looking for a little what would you do advice.

My wife is a nurse practitioner and has the following attached options for coverage. I am a teacher currently applying to medical school and we have an 18 month old daughter. I have 35k federal student loan debt at 6.8% and 20k private student loan debt at a higher rate. We have 20k credit card debt at 0% we leveraged for her schooling and unforeseen bills related to the birth of our daughter. We own a home and have one car payment. The credit card debt should be paid off by June and no interest will be paid, we then plan on tackling the student loan debt. My wife will be contributing to her employer 401k up to the match and I have 11% taken out and put towards a pension plan that I will likely cash out if I get into med school.

The buy down plan allows us to contribute to an HSA and the other plans give us an HRA to cover most of the deductible. I just don't know if we are in a position to be investing with student loan debt and expensive child wellness visits. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks

I’ am looking for a little what would you do advice.

My wife is a nurse practitioner and has the following attached options for coverage. I am a teacher currently applying to medical school and we have an 18 month old daughter. I have 35k federal student loan debt at 6.8% and 20k private student loan debt at a higher rate. We have 20k credit card debt at 0% we leveraged for her schooling and unforeseen bills related to the birth of our daughter. We own a home and have one car payment. The credit card debt should be paid off by June and no interest will be paid, we then plan on tackling the student loan debt. My wife will be contributing to her employer 401k up to the match and I have 11% taken out and put towards a pension plan that I will likely cash out if I get into med school.