Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MS3 trying to decide on area of specialty

Hello all,

Long time reader, first time poster. I am a current MS3 trying to decide on specialty choice. I worked as an MA in ophthalmology during college and enjoyed that, but told myself I would keep my options open throughout med school. I recently shadowed in dermatology, including both general and Mohs surgery, and really enjoyed that as well. There really hasn't been a rotation that I've hated so far, although I'm only halfway through my third year. I also enjoy some of the surgical fields (i.e. my rotation in general and orthopedics), but length of training and work-life balance are a concern there.

I had always been told "you have plenty of time to decide" and "you will fall in love with something during your third year", but I feel like the crunch is on to make a decision soon, and honestly nothing has jumped out at me to the point where I thought to myself "this is what I have to do for the rest of my life". I feel like I am a fairly versatile person and could be happy in multiple fields.

I was hoping to get some advice on how to make the decision on specialty choice. I am the first one in my family to go to medical school, and as such feel somewhat on my own when making this decision. Any advice you could provide to help with this decision would be greatly appreciated.

You can never go wrong picking derm

Comment