Hello!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello!

Hello all! Newbie here...My wife is a physician and I am a teacher. We just dodged a major whole life insurance policy bullet when we went out researching some of our questions and found this site. Literally she had done the medical test and everything! We almost signed the papers completely ignorant of our situation. So a big thanks goes out already! Whew!

This ignorance has scared us straight. So here we are. We are both 39, have two kids, own our own home and have been maxing out her 401k since she became partner a couple years ago. I also have a 403b but that is not nearly being maxed yet. Based on my little reading so far I assume that should really be where we start huh?

Anyways, glad to be aboard this train. Thanks for this great service you all provide. Hopefully someday I will be able to offer advice like I have received already.

A big fat welcome to you, @huskie92!
    Working to protect good doctors from bad advisors. Fox & Co CPAs, Fox & Co Wealth Mgmt. 270-247-6087

Comment

Welcome.  I'm new here too.  I agree with you on maxing out your pre-tax 401k or 403b contributions.   My wife and I did that last year.  This year we started two traditional IRA to convert to Roth IRAs (aka backdoor Roth IRAs).  Happy investing.

Comment

Max out 401(k)s, 403(b)s, and backdoor Roths.  Contribute to 529s at least to capture state credits or deductions in full.  Looks at NY or Utah if your own state 529 doesn't get state tax credits or deductions.

Any student loans not yet paid off?  Any debt other than the mortgage?

Comment