Is it worth it living in southern California

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Is it worth it living in southern California

Greetings! I'm in my last year of fellowship Allergy/Immunology and I've been always "dreaming" of living in southern California ( I just like the sunny days and being able to visit the beach). I understand that it's more expensive to live in S.Cali but it seems the main difference is in the house/ real estate value which should be viewed as an investment , right ? I mean if you buy a 500K house in Cali that would worth only 200K in other states, it's not like you're loosing money! As a matter of fact, it seems it's a good way to force you to save to keep your money in an asset/investment that will likely not depreciate overtime!

For those who live in Cali , do you agree ? Is there a fallacy in my logic ?

Thanks.

This depends. The premium is worth it to me, but it may not be to you. If you move here, you do so knowing about the cost of housing, taxes, etc.

Comment

I did residency in SoCal and that was enough to scratch the itch. Whenever we go back I am dumbfounded by the congestion and traffic. No way I could raise a family there, though obviously many people do. To be near the beach you’ll pay a premium for housing beyond the usual SoCal premium; as an allergist it may not even be affordable. To live inland is pretty miserable; smog and traffic and you have to drive a lot to get ‘anywhere.’ To each his own. Maybe try it a little while, rent for a couple years, see what you think.

Comment

I disagree.

Taxes can also be a big factor depending on what city / state you are using in comparison to California.