Private practice and benefits

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Private practice and benefits

Hi everyone - I'm a third year family resident in the middle of interviewing for jobs. At this point I've interviewed almost exclusively for employed positions with large systems who offer traditional institutional benefit packages (i.e. 401/403, 457s, HSAs).

I have several interviews with private practices coming up, and I'm at a bit of a loss on how to compare valuations of their benefit packages. I know even in larger groups with small business 401s, the fund options might not be that great. And I assume the 457s will be out, and the health insurance offerings would be quite different.

I've been reading around and talking with people, but almost all my mentor physicians are employed docs, so they have limited to no experience in the private world. Any tips on how to compare the total compensation/benefits between the employed vs private options?

Thank you!

Excel spreadsheet with detailed columns for every job you interview at. Put everything down, from CME, vacation days, detailed pay structure, relocation expenses, loan repayment programs, every benefits you can think of, and such.

Comment

Of course ask about partnership buy in.

Comment

Excel spreadsheet with detailed columns for every job you interview at. Put everything down, from CME, vacation days, detailed pay structure, relocation expenses, loan repayment programs, every benefits you can think of, and such.

also crime rates, economic strentghs, schools, amenities particular to you, cost of living/home prices index compared to your baseline, how you felt the people at the practice seemed from a personal impression standpoint (nice, honest, guarded, transparent, easy going, shrewd, etc...). lots of stuff.

Comment