Console me

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Console me

My derm resident wife (s/p 3 years research in med school) just told me she is going to take an extra 3+ years to get a PhD in a physician-scientist track. Rationale from her: "I have nothing to lose..."

How do I be supportive when I think this is a terrible career decision that is going to cost us $1m in lost income? If she actually had a passion for research I would feel differently, but she's already done 3 years and I just didn't see the spark. Mind you that I do this for a living myself as an academic research faculty member.

Money vs happiness -  Happy wife = happy home.

Hard to tell SO what the balance between home/career is.   What did she do when you went through the decision tree of doing academic research over PP?

Could be worse, she could have chosen academic internal medicine

Comment

I never did residency and had no debt. I was much better at science than medicine, it was an easy decision for me.  I fully subscribe to the happy spouse/happy life philosophy. However, I don't think research is going to make her happy.  She likes working in lab but not writing.  Once you're the boss, all you do is write grants, papers, letters and prepare presentations. It's not that fun actually.

Comment

Tough situation for sure. Have you had a good talk about it. "What do I have to loose" does not seem like a well thought out reason to go into a PhD program. Have her do a SWOT...This is where she rights down her strengths, weaknesses, opportunities, and threats of getting the PhD versus staying on the same track.

I did one for my move to Cali and it helped me feel like it was the right decision. Then in 5 years if she looks back with regret, at least she will have a well thought out reason written down for why she did it. Here is the article from my SWOT.

Comment

Ask her what does she have to gain

A motivated research driven md can accomplish 99.9% of an md/phd imo