Getting old

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Getting old

I will reach the ripe old age of 50 in 2 years. Wow over half my life is gone!

But I still feel like there is so much I still want to do and experience. Yet, my body is no longer able to do it.
    I’ve been lifting weights 3 times a week for the past 2 years and just started doing couch to 5k. I’m not super fit but ok, just like many I could shed 10 lbs - love food and drinks!......

Anyway, how did you all who are above 50 approach it? I know none of us have a choice to get old, but did you prepare yourself mentally? Or was it just another day. No big deal.

When I see someone posting on facebook about ‘turning the big 40’, it seems like nothing. I dont recall much changing going from 30 to 40. I could still hike up the hills or run just like when I was in my 30s. Now, forward 10 years and it hurts to get up from long sitting. My joints hurt after doing exercises. I have to take my glasses off to read! My eye sights seem worse at night - I need photons... lots of it....

Did you hang out with older folks to feel a little younger? Or do you hang out with younger people to feel younger? Neither?

Last edited by STATscans; 03-16-2021, 06:09 AM.

I went to post a picture of that seemingly photoshopped muscle bound old man we are used to seeing in airline magazine ads. Turns out he’s a doctor and those aren’t photoshopped. Dr. Jeffry Life:

https://www.lifeextension.com/magazi...ife-at-any-age

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.lat...ml%3f_amp=true

“I’ll have what (he’s) having.”

Comment

Same as you, turning 40 did not bother me one bit.